R.K. Narayan (आर.के. नारायण)

R. K. Narayan (10 October 1906 – 13 May 2001), full name Rasipuram Krishnaswami Iyer Narayanaswami, was an Indian writer, best known for his works set in the fictional South Indian town of Malgudi. He was a leading author of early Indian literature in English, along with Mulk Raj Anand and Raja Rao. Notable awards Padma Vibhushan, Sahitya Akademi Award, Benson Medal.

Swami and Friends
The Bachelor of Arts
the Guide
All Colection of  R.K.Narayan


Swami and Friends (1935, Hamish Hamilton)
The Bachelor of Arts (1937, Thomas Nelson)
The Dark Room (1938, Eyre)
The English Teacher (1945, Eyre)
Mr. Sampath (1948, Eyre)
The Financial Expert (1952, Methuen)
Waiting for the Mahatma (1955, Methuen)
The Guide (1958, Methuen)
The Man-Eater of Malgudi (1961, Viking)
The Vendor of Sweets (1967, The Bodley Head)
The Painter of Signs (1977, Heinemann)
A Tiger for Malgudi (1983, Heinemann)
Talkative Man (1986, Heinemann)
The World of Nagaraj (1990, Heinemann)
Grandmother’s Tale (1992, Indian Thought Publications)


Next Sunday (1960, Indian Thought Publications)
My Dateless Diary (1960, Indian Thought Publications)
My Days (1974, Viking)
Reluctant Guru (1974, Orient Paperbacks)
The Emerald Route (1980, Indian Thought Publications)
A Writer’s Nightmare (1988, Penguin Books)
A Story-Teller’s World (1989, Penguin Books)
The Writerly Life (2002, Penguin Books India)
Mysore (1944, second edition, Indian Thought Publications)


Gods, Demons and Others (1964, Viking)
The Ramayana (1973, Chatto & Windus)
The Mahabharata (1978, Heinemann)

Short story collections

Malgudi Days (1942, Indian Thought Publications)
An Astrologer’s Day and Other Stories (1947, Indian Thought Publications)
Lawley Road and Other Stories (1956, Indian Thought Publications)
A Horse and Two Goats (1970)
Under the Banyan Tree and Other Stories (1985)
The Grandmother’s Tale and Selected Stories (1994, Viking)


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply